- 1 What is the statute of limitations on a worthless check in Tennessee?
- 2 Is writing a bad check a felony in Tennessee?
- 3 How do I file a consumer complaint in Tennessee?
- 4 How do I report a business in Tennessee?
- 5 How do I file charges on a bad check?
- 6 What is the penalty for passing bad checks?
- 7 Can a warrant be issued for a bad check?
- 8 What is the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act?
- 9 How do I report an illegal business in Tennessee?
- 10 How do I file a complaint against an attorney in Tennessee?
- 11 Who regulates cable companies in Tennessee?
- 12 Who regulates banks in Tennessee?
- 13 Who is Tennessee Attorney General?
What is the statute of limitations on a worthless check in Tennessee?
Tennessee Statue of Limitations Checks totaling less than $500 are considered a “Class A misdemeanor, and must be prosecuted within 12 months from the date the check is written.
Is writing a bad check a felony in Tennessee?
Writing a worthless check is considered a crime of theft in Tennessee. If the check is worth $500 or less, it is considered a Class A misdemeanor. It is a felony to write a worthless check for more than $500.
How do I file a consumer complaint in Tennessee?
For more consumer resources, or to file a complaint, visit the DCA website at tn.gov/consumer or contact us at 800-342-8385 or [email protected]
How do I report a business in Tennessee?
To file a complaint against an individual or a business entity, you can complete a complaint form here. DCA will forward your complaint to the individual or business and attempt to facilitate a mutually acceptable resolution. The Attorney General’s Office cannot represent you in your complaint.
How do I file charges on a bad check?
Write a letter to the person who passed you the bad check. Inform him that they need to pay the check in full plus any resulting fees. Give them 7 to 10 days to pay the debt in full. Send the letter certified so you have proof it was received.
What is the penalty for passing bad checks?
If convicted of a felony case of PC 476a writing or passing bad checks, you will be facing up to three years a California state prison, $10,000 fine, and ordered to pay full restitution.
Can a warrant be issued for a bad check?
A. If you are charged with the offense of “issuance of a bad check,” a warrant will be issued for your arrest. If a warrant has been issued, you must act immediately to avoid arrest. However, you remain subject to arrest at any time.
What is the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act?
What Is the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act? The Tennessee Consumer Protection Act of 1977 was passed for the purpose of protecting consumers and businesses from unfair and deceptive acts or practices in trade or commerce by providing civil legal means to ensure ethical dealings between businesses and consumers.
How do I report an illegal business in Tennessee?
Consumers can email [email protected] and our staff will assist you in determining if a business has had a complaint(s) filed against them with our office. The Better Business Bureau is another resource to check, as they may have complaints filed with their organization as well.
How do I file a complaint against an attorney in Tennessee?
If you believe your attorney has not acted in your best interest and has thereby done something illegal or unethical, you may wish to file a grievance against your attorney. In Tennessee you may contact the Board of Professional Responsibility at 1-800-486-5714 (www.tbpr.org).
Who regulates cable companies in Tennessee?
This industry is highly regulated by both the Tennessee Regulatory Authority and the Fed- eral Communications Commission. Any telecommunications system operated by a county would have to conform to all such regulations and requirements.
Who regulates banks in Tennessee?
The Department of Financial Institutions regulates state-chartered financial institutions in Tennessee. In 2015, a total of 32,286 financial crimes were reported in Tennessee according to the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FINCEN), an agency of the United States Department of Treasury.
Who is Tennessee Attorney General?
Attorney General Herbert H. Herbert H. Slatery III was sworn in as Attorney General and Reporter for the State of Tennessee on October 1, 2014. He was appointed by the Supreme Court to serve an eight-year term.